Nuts!

14 Jun

You win some, you lose some.  A freelancer’s schedule is excellent most of the time.  I’ll admit it, it’s really nice to have a random day off in the middle of the week.  I get to go to Trader Joe’s and not feel like I’ve just watched 400 moms go AWOL because I have an unpredictable, completely random schedule where I get most things done when everyone else is working.  In the good ol’ days, you were so busy that you never batted an eye at telling someone you were booked, even though you were actually going camping for the weekend.  Those days seem to be gone for the most of us.  You never know when the economy is going to jump ship again, and the industry is going to come to a screeching halt.  Also, I just like to work. But what if your schedule is completely out of your hands?

Today, I got a VERY exciting phone call from a television producer in LA to work on a makeover series with the winner from Project Runway.  The call was especially painful because she told me all the HOLY CRAP, please pinch me details of the project prior to mentioning the dates.  This just happens to be the week one of my favorite ladies in the whole wide universe is getting married, a wedding I’m standing up in.  Wheeeew, no that’s not a stiff breeze, that’s the sound my stomach makes when I get the wind knocked out of me.  DANG!  What’s a lady to do other than pass the job to someone she really trusts.

Now back to the positive….  Another plus about being a freelancer is that you get to refer people when you’re unavailable.  I look forward to these opportunities.  I know I wouldn’t be where I am if it wasn’t for the special people I met in the early days who liked me enough to pass my name along to photographer’s when I was a photo assistant, even though I was green.  I still get 70% of my work from referrals.  I’m forever gracious for those referrals and the best way to say thanks in our industry is to pass your great opportunity onto a well deserved friend.

Today I may have lost an unbelievable opportunity, but I’m positive it won’t be the last AND most importantly, I got to send a special thanks to a friend.

Leave a Reply

