As gay as a Sunday afternoon.

24 Jun

Sometimes my job forces me to rely on different cliches and stereotypes so that an image is eye catching and instantly apparent.  My challenge was to really overstate the different stereotypes we have of homosexuals. Relying on these stereotypes may be at odds of what we all know to be true about life.  My inspiration comes from nothing actual, but rather taking one small characteristic and running with it.  I have a lot of gay friends and none of them are represented here because they wear shirts other than in convenient stores, hate spandex, and only use oil while cooking.  You can almost relate it to reality TV.  Why do I like to watch the Real Housewives?  Because extreme characters are entertaining.  Yes, this photograph is silly, but I think it captures the fun in the gay community of Chicago.  I can only speak for myself, but it sure makes me want to go to the parade this weekend.

A big thanks to the photographer Michelle Nolan and hair, make up artist Kerre Berry, and TIME OUT for being such a delight to work with!

One Response to “As gay as a Sunday afternoon.”

  1. Lauren June 24, 2010 at 3:08 PM #

    I want to go to the parade!

Leave a Reply

