The best worst movie.

17 Aug

You know how you always want to share how bad something tastes with your friends?  Well, I would like to share how bad this movie is with you and yes, I think you should try it because it is off the charts hilariously entertaining.  It goes in and out of #1 on IMDB’s top 100 worst movies of all time.  I finally got to see Troll 2 (#329) last night and let me tell you, it surpassed the hype.

My curiosity to see this cinematic wonder was sparked when I randomly went to see the documentary, The Best Worst Movie (#316).  Taken from IMDB.com: “A look at the making of the film Troll 2 (1990) and its journey from being crowned the “worst film of all time” to a cherished cult classic.”

“In 1989, unwitting Utah actors starred in the undisputed Worst Movie in History: TROLL 2. Two decades later, the legendarily inept film’s child star unravels the improbable, heartfelt story of an Alabama dentist-turned-cult movie icon and an Italian filmmaker who come to terms with this genuine, internationally revered cinematic failure.”

Through the documentary, you fall in love with the stars of the film and understand how such an unfortunate masterpiece came to fruition.  It involved more than the stars aligning.  I know it sounds like I’m over hyping, but it is truly a classic.

I don’t know what would be more effective, to see Troll 2 and then the documentary, or vice versa.  My guess is that you can’t go wrong either way.  After seeing both films, my only regret is that I didn’t jump on the Troll 2 bandwagon long ago.  It truly is the best worst movie I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

