My online shopping cart is half empty.

5 Apr

I guess this is more of a warning than anything.  As you know, I’m a big fan of online shopping, especially since a lot of companies now have free shipping.  It’s really great for ordering men’s suits, with the option of getting specific pant lengths and finding hard to find jacket sizes.  It’s also amazing for shoes, which I hate buying in stores because you’re wasting too much of a sales clerk time when they could be getting commission from someone else.  The kicker is, and where I’m starting to see the online world as a half empty cart, is when you return the items.  Many companies now have smart labels, which provide free return shipping, which also provides intense anxiety over whether or not your package will ever arrive back to the retailer.  If the package was lost in the abyss of the USPS, I would have to eat the costs, which is about the same amount of money of what I purchased my first car.  This creates a bad day and in the end, not worth the emotional torment.

I recently did a job where I had a number of boxes that I needed to return and dropped them off at the USPS office near my apartment.  I realize 3 weeks later, the returns were still not processed on my credit card.  When I looked up the tracking numbers (ALWAYS KEEP YOUR TRACKING #) I saw that the packages hadn’t moved an inch.  After total panic of thinking the items were gone, the packages were sent to the retailers 4 WEEKS LATER!  Crazy, right?  This is when being a stylist becomes tough.  You don’t ever want a job lingering on your credit cards for a month.  Nowadays everyone wants to see the same amount of products on set, but they don’t want to pay expenses up front.  You need to have a lot of money to stay afloat when things like this happen, so that you’re not giving up half of your fee to credit card interest.  Bottom line, always ALWAYS keep your tracking numbers and purchase insurance, silently hate the USPS in your sleep, and keep a hefty savings for credit crunch situations.

5 Responses to “My online shopping cart is half empty.”

  1. dressingmyself April 5, 2011 at 4:16 PM #

    As a fellow fan of online shopping I echo your advice. Also (and this is basic) unwrap everything very carefully so that it is as easy as it could possibly be to pack it up again.

    • courtneyrust April 6, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

      Great tip! You always want to make it as easy as possible for everyone.

  2. Stevi Savage April 5, 2011 at 5:04 PM #

    dang. scaryyy!! good advice.

    love your blog!

    • courtneyrust April 6, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

      Ugh, I almost had a hear attack. Luckily, it always works out in the end.

      Thanks for the kind words about my blog!!!

  3. Summer April 6, 2011 at 3:07 PM #

    I’ve found when getting packages they always come quickly and on time, but when they are footing the bill for free returns they always take forever, they will drag it out as long as possible before giving you your money back!

    I love your port btw, I love your color choices.

Leave a Reply

