Which wardrobe/and or prop stylist should I contact to assist?

20 Jan

Some people may disagree with me on this, but I personally don’t think you should be choosey on what wardrobe and/or prop stylists you want to assist.  You can learn from everyone, even if you think someone isn’t as talented or has a different personality.  Sometimes learning what not to do is just as valuable as learning the seemingly right way to do things.  It is best to team up with as many stylists as you can in order to pick up as many different techniques as possible.  We all do it a little differently.

2 Responses to “Which wardrobe/and or prop stylist should I contact to assist?”

  1. Julia March 20, 2012 at 7:37 AM #

    Hi, I just came across your blog and love the personal touch.

    I have been styling for a little while now but mostly editorial – submissions and commission. I am trying to break into commercial work as that is where the money is but I am finding I lack knowledge when it comes to sourcing for this. Even my assisting work has been mostly editorial or fashion shows.

    Do your clients usually provide you with a budget for purchases and hire fees or must you rely on borrowing from PR/designers and buy/return?

    Thanks

    • courtneyrust March 20, 2012 at 7:44 AM #

      Hi Julia! The clients provide me with a budget to purchase the used clothing and everything else I may need to get the job done. The only time you get to borrow clothes from a store for free is when you’re able to give a brand credit in a magazine.

Leave a Reply

