Why aren’t kids working?

5 Jun

Maybe it’s just the teenagers I know, but I’ve noticed that there has been a serious decline in high schoolers that have part time jobs, or even college kids for that matter.  No one works anymore.  They’re just supported by their parents who think that their kids need that spare time to focus on their schooling.  I can’t speak for every industry out there, but I know in my world that the people who are booked all of the time are the hardest working, not necessarily the most talented.  What I mean by this is that you’re not going to get anywhere with your amazing talent if you don’t bust your ass on set and have a bunch of people recognize that.  The only way you become an ass buster is by having a bunch of jobs that sucked so badly that they drive you to want to get the most out of every opportunity.  The result is that nothing is taken for granted, and you kill yourself to not have to work at a gas station again (actually, my favorite high school job).  I became a full time freelancer at the spry age of 22, but that was only possible because my parents had me scoop ice cream at 13 in between field hockey games, which continued onto about 15 other part time jobs that made my clothes smell like pizza by the time I graduated high school.  Now that I’m older, I think my dad was a smart man when he told me, “You’ll never appreciate money unless you’ve been poor and you’ll never appreciate your job unless you’ve worked at your rock bottom.”  He created both of those things for me, which I didn’t understand at the time, but I truly value today.  I’m also appreciative of the fact my ice cream scooping arm is still much stronger than my left.  Thanks Dad….   Kids, go to work.

Leave a Reply

